Police & Safety Committee


The Committee consists of seven to nine members who each serve a three-year term.

Primary responsibilities and duties of the Committee include:

  • Assisting the Chief of Police and the Department in maintaining the highest quality and standards of police work.
  • Assisting the Chief of Police by providing advice, counsel and action to maintain the standards of integrity, efficiency and morale in the Police Department.
  • Participating in the implementation of the traffic-related portions of the Comprehensive Plan.
  • Participating in the implementation of the Creve Coeur Traffic Calming/Traffic Mitigation program.
  • Reviewing the traffic impact of selected public works and private development projects as requested by the City Council or the Planning and Zoning Commission.
  • Proactively encouraging public and private sector efforts to use and develop alternative modes of transportation within the City of Creve Coeur. 
  • Reviewing and assisting in the formulation of new city policies for traffic management.

To find out more about the roles and guidelines of appointed and elected City positions, read A Citizens Advisory Guide to Boards, Committees and Commissions


  • Bob Gale, Committee Member
  • James Gerst, Committee Member
  • Mark Shook, Committee Member
  • Al Schopp, Jr., Chair
  • Debra Wiens, Committee Member
  • Lloyd Nolan, Committee Member
  • William Spieler, Vice Chair
  • Ben Lefton, Committee Member
  • Gary Liess, Committee Member
  • Heather Silverman, Council Liaison - Ward 1